January Poems

One of my New Year resolutions was to try and write at least one, and hopefully two poems each month of this year. In the poems I aim to give my impressions of that particular month. As a further discipline I am going to try and write one poem each month that is an acrostic i.e. I shall use the letters that spell the month as the beginnings of each line. Any further poem will be of a length and form that suggests its self at the time.

Today I am posting my first two “efforts” – for January. Please feel free to comment – encouragement, observations and criticisms welcome. Remember short comments welcome on my Twitter @theruralwriter.

January

January skies of gloomy grey hang
Arrow pierced by iron black twigged trees.
Nothing moves in the dripping damp drizzle
Until silent stillness is riven by raven wings
Across the charcoal cloud as crow’s caw.
Rain lashes and stabs the sodden ground
Yet evening brings promise of a better tomorrow.

 

 

Day began beneath gloomy gunmetal grey blanketing cloud
As ferocious wind rattled and roared through
The iron black silhouettes of interlaced twigs and branches.
Rain, icy as steel and needle sharp, pierced the soggy fields.
Muddy, expanding pools and puddles invaded and conquered,
While ditches and streams, swollen and raging, burst banks,
As they flow free across ploughed and seeded land.
But rose streaked twilight’s westering sky promises
The crisp, cold, calm of a crystal bright opal dawn.
In the first faltering filaments of subtle searching sunlight
Icy furrowed fields, diamond frosted, glisten with hoary rime.
By noon a cornflower sky, blazing sun with soft cooling breeze
Illuminates skeletal hedgerows scarlet, gold and verdant green.
At last the small promise of future Spring.

 

 

2 thoughts on “January Poems

  1. These are beautiful poems and wonderfully evocative! The first one reminds me of the work of Gerard Manley Hopkins – my favourite poet! Such a good idea to use this discipline – I look forward to the forthcoming months!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the lovely comment Teresa. It remains to be seen if I can achieve the 12 poems for the whole year but I am going to give it a good try. Certainly I intend to do an acrostic one for each month. Thanks again and keep looking.

    Like

Leave a comment