He’s Home!!

Himself is now home. We have carers coming in and I am on a very steep learning curve to try and learn how to take care of someone who is still confused and needs help with all the normal tasks that we take for granted. I had no idea that just getting someone to stand up and hold on to a zimmer frame let alone walking with it was so difficult.

Himself had four falls while he was in hospital and after some further investigations and questions I finally got to have a lengthy talk with his Consultant. A charming woman who spoke frankly about Himself’s condition and recommended that he come home as soon as possible. He will take a long time to come out of his confusion and perhaps never will but the chances are that he will make more of a recovery at home. The dining room is full of hospital type equipment. His hospital bed, a commode, a zimmer frame, sundry medications and a put you up bed for me so that I am on hand at night. Himself had a very good night’s sleep last night but I can’t say the same for myself – the put you up bed is more than adequate but I had difficulty getting to sleep and then woke regularly through the night – I am guessing I was concerned that he might fall out of bed or need me. He didn’t.

The manner of his discharge was far from satisfactory. I saw the consultant on Thursday and assumed that Himself would be in the hospital for another weekend. Having sort of decided that I mowed the lawn on Friday morning and tackled various other jobs. After my lunch I set out for my visit to the hospital. Part way through my journey my mobile rang. The voice at the other end announced that it was a call from the hospital. My heart sank – other calls like this have always informed me that Himself has had a fall. Not so this time – a cheery voice told me that he was coming home that afternoon and I needed to be there to “receive” him. I turned round and headed back home. I had been told he would be home on hospital transport by 5.00pm. I rushed around making up the hospital bed, sorting out my sleeping arrangements etc. Five o’clock came and went. Then the phone rang again – he would not be home until 6.00pm – he was held up because the Pharmacy had not dispensed the one medicine he was to come home with!!!!! At ten past six he arrived home in hospital pyjamas and feeling rather cold. A carer was here and kindly helped him to settle him in. The contrast between her care and that in the hospital was extraordinary. This carer and the one that came this morning was kindly, efficient and yes, caring.

It will be very hard work I think and at the moment he needs attention. I hope that gradually I will be able to go into the garden etc. It is good to have him home and whatever it takes I guess is far better than being “dumped” in a dull basement ward with rudimentary care. I won’t have to drive to Ashford every day and do several circuits of the car park to find a space and then walk countless corridors that are less than clean. to eventually arrive in a ward in which little dignity, respect or care is offered to sick people who are heading towards the ends of their lives. As my elderly neighbour remarked the prospect is terrifying.

I was just happily typing away when I noticed a car pull into the drive. Out got two nurses. They came to the door and explained that they had come to assess Himself. Having done so they explained that they were nothing to do with the “care package” but would be reporting back to social services. As usual the right hand has no idea what the left hand is doing. The discharge manager and the therapists agreed a care package with me and my son in the hospital and we asked for a copy in writing to be sent to my email address. Needless to say no such copy has appeared and there is no way that I know of that I can contact anyone to get a copy. I can only conclude that the whole system around the NHS and care is irrevocably broken. If I can’t navigate my way around it how on earth do others with less determination manage?

On Monday I will need to contact the GP. Himself must have a blood test done 7 days after discharge. Also the hospital have sent him home with Sodium Chloride tablets but they are not listed on the Discharge Form, there is no indication of if he should still be taking them or how much or how often. I despair. How would someone do these things if they were alone?

Before he came home I managed to get in a walk down the lane. The sun has been shining – it has been quite warm and the sheep were silently grazing. As I approached the pond I saw a pair of Mallard ducks doing a circuit of the island of verdant green weed. They floated along side by side and then headed for the field shore, waddled up on to the grass and slowly made their way across part of the field wing to wing. A happy little couple out for a stroll. As I progressed down the lane I must have disturbed a pheasant because a rasping screech rent the air. I looked and looked but could not locate the perpetrator. There aren’t any lambs yet. The first buds are appearing on the roses, the tulips are in full bloom and for get me nots are everywhere. I need to get an order in for some lavender plants and various other things – I am tempted to get more Camellias but either they are vastly expensive if a good size or reasonable but very small. Will I be around long enough to see the small ones bloom I wonder! I have a tiny Magnolia tree in a pot – it needs planting out. It was very cheap at a supermarket and seemed a bargain but I am certain it will take years to bloom!! The front lawn needs mowing and I shall try and do it this afternoon if Himself is OK for a while. I have invested in a pair of walkie talkies – one hand set for him – one for me. They are simple to operate – just press down the button and speak. They have range enough for him to use them from the house to contact me in the garden. The tomato plants are thriving – there are masses of them but I have a number of “customers” who have expressed an interest in acquiring a few. Not least among them is the little boy who lives next door. He has helped me in the garden and is setting up his own vegetable patch so he shall have some. I have also had a request for some for his granny – she shall also have some.

2 thoughts on “He’s Home!!

  1. So pleased to read that your husband is now at home. I am not surprised at the disorganised and somewhat alarming manner of his discharge. It is a sad state of affairs and the NHS is a shadow of its former self. I do hope the care package works out and that you also get some restorative time to yourself in the garden, and, hopefully some walks.

    With all good wishes,
    Stella x

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    1. Hi Stella

      Thank you so much for your supportive and kind emails. I am sorry I haven’t got back to you before. It is really good to have hm home although I am having to slowly get used to caring etc. As he settles back at home I am sure things will really improve. Once the NHs care package runs out I shall get some carers to come in on a regular basis for a while – I couldn’t possibly manage on my own. I think that once Ted has settled a little I will be able to do a bit in the garden. Today I am hoping to be able to finish the lawn mowing! Thank you again for your kind message – it means a lot to hear from people and keeps me connected to the outside world. All good wishes Pat x ________________________________

      Like

Leave a comment